Best Mill for 1" thick Aluminum?

Thread: Best Mill for 1" thick Aluminum?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Best Mill for 1" thick Aluminum?

I have been researching mills and this site is great.
    I plan on cutting a lot of 1" thick Aluminum in to geometric shapes and have been looking for the right mill.

I think the small taig type mills are underpowered for this type of work. I have been considering a Bridgeport but converting to a CNC might be too big of a project for me since
    I have little machine shop experience. I was hoping to compensate my lack of hands on experience with a CNC operation and a lot of the "home" machines seem affodable.

Would a CNC Router be underpowered for this type of work?
    And what type of precision can I get? <0.001"

Or are there any "medium sized" mills out there? I have seen the Rong-Fu but not sure of the accuracy
    of these mills. Plus I don't think they have a high enough spindle speed >4,000.

Thanks
    Steve

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Thats mighty thick for a hobby machine. If you are doing production work, you might be better jobbing it out. If for hobby projects, you will have to take many passes to cut through that with a light duty machine. How about some more info about what you are trying to do?

Downloads
    Uploads

You will need to convert an existing mill to cut plate like that. The home machines you see here are for wood and very light metal work.

Eric

I wish it wouldn't crash.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I am not looking to do hobby work, but prototyping and production for in-house use. Mainly I want to cut 5" diam discs with a lathe then cut a v-notch or wedge shape out of the middle. The purpose is to make "wedge grip" fixtures for in-house tensile testing of plastics. So I am looking at smooth internal faces at a set angle that would require some precision. Right now I am using MDF and a bad saw to do my preliminary work.