Getting design to GCode

Thread: Getting design to GCode

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question Getting design to GCode

Let me start by saying that I am new to the CNC world, I'm about 1/3 of the way thru my 1st table build. Even though I am very familar with computers and software apps, worked in the field for the last 20 years, I have fallen short in the Cad Cam area.
    I have downloaded the Alibre software and have gotten thru the 1st tutorial. I feel that I will indeed be able to catch on to it pretty easy, at least basic deisigns. But I'm not familar with the options you have for saving or exporting the designs to. I guess I was assuming (bad thing to do) that I could export the design to a dxf format , or similar, and then on to GCode.
    I don't think that I am grasping the differences between Cad and Cam. Could someone explain the differences for me as well as what I do with the design when I have completed it?
    At this point I am thinking that my Alibre design is Cad, it needs to be converted to Cam, save it as a dxf file and then convert to GCode. Or am I way off base here?

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by dfranks; 08-07-2005 at 11:50 AM. Reason: typo

Downloads
    Uploads

CAM is the software tool that helps you create toolpaths over your model. While simple 2d outlines are quite readily offset for tool radius and then converted to dxf and then to gcode with some convertor type applications, this covers only the simplest machining applications. Such convertors may be quite deficient in supplying Z axis control codes to permit your tool to safely enter and/or clear the work at the proper moment.

Now, if you do much more toolpath drawing manually, you can improve the entry into the part with ramps, helical entry and so on. Good CAM will give you these options and add them to your gcode automatically.