Precision fast DIY CNC

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Precision fast DIY CNC

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Precision fast DIY CNC

Hello everyone,

This is my first post here, and wow, what a mother load of info on this site, thank you all for making this the most informative place on this.

I'm fairly new at all this, but am raring to go with a good budget to build a premium CNC build. What I'm wondering is this. Which of these open source machine builds would be the best combination of speed and precision for high quality detailed woodwork at 48"x96" or larger? I've been looking at the Kronos KRM02, and it's pretty sturdy looking, but has Nema 24 motors. Looking to build something with Nema 34 motors and high quality drivers. Is there an easy way to convert the kronos to Nema 34? Does it really matter if it is Nema 34?

To give you a background, I will be making large scenic pieces, steps, risers, etc. Some very detailed pieces, and some not so detailed pieces. Usually time is of the essence, so speed is a necessity.

Many thanks in advance for any advice anyone can give me.
    Chris

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Which of these open source machine builds would be the best combination of speed and precision
    You only listed one.

If you're talking about the 8020 machines, most of them use components from CNCRouterParts.com

First, even with the Nema 23 motors, the spindle will be the limiting factor in how fast you can cut unless you spend a few thousand $$ for a 5HP spindle.
    And I think at that point, you'll find that the aluminum extrusion and skate bearing carriages are not really up to the 5HP spindle.

I haven't seen anyone mention that precision is an issue with any of these machines. Stepper powered machines will always have to trade speed for precision, due to the fact that a steppers torque falls off with rpm, and the only way to get more precision is to spin the motor more times, which equals faster.