Noob Q: How do I make this on a X3 mill (27in dia)

Thread: Noob Q: How do I make this on a X3 mill (27in dia)

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Noob Q: How do I make this on a X3 mill (27in dia)

Howdy,

This may be a stupid question, but since I'm a noob : I would appreciate any tips . I would like to make the attached pic piece in a Sieg X3 CNC mill (which I'm still in the process of quoting). The right tool to do this would probably be a waterjet... still... If we were to take this as dare how would we go about doing it?

It is basically a 27" disk of 1/8" thick carbon steel with a bunch of symmetric holes that are way over the capacity of the mill table.

The radial lines are just symmetry lines -- I did a triangle with the basic holes and then a polar array 16x. Most of the holes are for screws so they would be countersink. The reminder holes are for shafts, but they will rotate rather gently and all that will be needed is a Teflon thingy (sorry about the technical jargon) to keep it from squeaking. The precision would be fine at 0.01". The whole piece is part of a braiding machine.

The first thought was to break things up into smaller pieces, but I think we won't be able to put humpty dumpty together again -- or he will not be able to walk . The next idea was to use the fact that most of the holes are a few inches from the edge. So, perhaps, one could figure out a clamping and indexing that simply allowed you to do the next section by indexing on the holes you just made for the current section... we would also cut/finish the circle edge at the same time -- or in a second pass.

Does this stand a chance of working? Have you done anything similar? Did it come out all right? Hints, Tips?

Thanks

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Noob Q: How do I make this on a X3 mill (27in dia)-gif  

Downloads
    Uploads