Need Help! Breaking carbide tool

Thread: Breaking carbide tool

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Breaking carbide tool

Hi everyone,

I'm a bit new to the CNC routing world and am having issues with my cutter getting badly damaged.

I have built a 3 axis CNC router with a generic 24000RPM ebay Chinese spindle using GRBL as my controller.

Everything is running well now however I have just started trying to do some test pieces on some old plywood. I got myself a cutter from msc, an upcut Kyocera p/n 91113 - a 6mm, 2 flute, carbide cutter designed for wood and plastics. Here's the datasheet: (https://www.kyocera-sgstool.com/uplo...outers_PDF.pdf)

It suggest <=1*D doc @ 31805rpm & 4135mm/min

My spindle can only go at 24000rpm so I calculated that to be 3120mm/min, and I did a doc of 6mm

Thing is when I ran this today for about half an hour, although it seemed like it had cut everything well, I pulled out the cutter to find the tips had sheared off - see attached image... And no it's not a rad cutter!

So far my guess is either
    - too high doc
    - too low spindle speed (as Vc is 452 with my feed/speed whereas datasheet recommends 480-720)
    - should stick with hss
    - machine is f****ed / too much vibration or something

I would do more tests but don't want to keep breaking these cutters as they're not cheap!

Please help,
    Thanks in advance!!
    Max

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Breaking carbide tool-15859361031232688004143842848481-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Breaking carbide tool

Max it looks like you hit something in the old bit of plywood. Your feeds and speeds are high, but I'm not going to comment on them further. If I cut timber I normally run around 1200mm min at 10 to 20k rpm. But timber is really forgiving. Carbide is brittle but hard. Is there a chance you dropped the end mill?