Micro structural solder/braze/weld help

Thread: Micro structural solder/braze/weld help

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Micro structural solder/braze/weld help

Hi there...

I am an aeromodeller, whose hobby is making and flying large scale radio control planes. (Like this one, no its not mine, but you get the idea)

http://www.goosesworld.com/dump/jet.jpg

I have been doing this for over 30 years. It requires a good working knowledge of woodworking, fibreglass, carbon fibre, structure and obviously, metalwork.

I am here to ask and learn how to successfully solder, braze and weld differing types of metals that I work with as my latest attempts have all but failed.

I am trying to figure out the correct materials, fluxes etc to connect music wire, brass and aluminium together and if possible, to each other.

I have had excellent results with Durafix for aluminium welding.

I should explain that I use a 'plumbers gas torch' for heat and I have been experimenting with plumbers rosin core solder, metalwork solder and a low temperature brazing rod (which i bought with me from overseas. I have one left, cant find any in Canada, and im not sure what it is, seems bronze or suchlike).

Music wire is sold in many sizes to modellers and is the most practical way to fabricate the many small parts and assemblies we need. I guess it is a case-hardened steel and for the life of me, I cannot get a good structural joint with it. (sizes range from .5mm to 6mm)

I have wrapped in in soft copper wire prior to solder, scuffed, fluxed, soldered and brazed it together but the filler material simply flows around it as if it were waterproof. Sometimes the joint looks good but has no strength.

Im not expecting to penetrate or bond the filler material with the parent material at this temperature, but expect better results.

Of course I am desperate to understand this as I am finishing a large & important project that requires these skills.