Need Help! Advice on brazing wire sculpture

Thread: Advice on brazing wire sculpture

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Advice on brazing wire sculpture

Greetings!

For a long time I've wanted to do some wire sculpture. (see example) This is primarily 3/16" to 1/4" round stock. What ever is cheapest?

Originally I thought I'd need a welder. Not ready for that yet. Then I started researching Brazing and soldering. Now being stuck at home I have no excuse not to try.

As a complete newbee, What material options do I have? I have a Propane torch, should I get Map? If I go Brazing, can anyone suggest what to order? Probably Amazon. What about flux?

I did watch some videos on brazing vs. soldering. Since these joints are not getting much stress, is a soldering approach enough?

Any advice on a better torch nozzle for this?

My only experience was as a kid my uncle was in the Jeweler business, and watched hours of soldering on links, or melting gold to be cast.

Thanks in advance for any advice:-)

Max

This example is 24" tall between 3/16 and 1/4" round stock.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Advice on brazing wire sculpture-metal-sculpture-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Advice on brazing wire sculpture

Hi Dis - I'd go soft solder. You could use a high wattage iron vs a torch, like lead lighters do. A small propane torch is all thats needed (soft solder about 200C). If you braze use tobin bronze (600degC) and a propane torch. Stronger but not necessary. Forceps would be good for holding bits or soft wire to wind around the bits to hold then remove after soldering....The imaged piece has been coppered or antiqued hard to say what they actually used....Cheers Peter

MAP is way to hot for that job by the way...

Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks!

The artist said the finish was rust. I will just spray paint black. So I should go Soft Solder. (I do electronic work, so I'm familiar with soldering at albeit smaller scale).