Purchasing 6040 CNC in a month, need help making the right choice for my needs

Thread: Purchasing 6040 CNC in a month, need help making the right choice for my needs

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Purchasing 6040 CNC in a month, need help making the right choice for my needs

Hi everybody, I am totally new to the CNC world and am hoping to lean on the vast knowledge of the users here to help me limit my initial mistakes and save some potential headaches. My goal is to prototype some small items I have designed which I plan on using the 6040 to create from foam and then casting them in 7075 or 6061 Aluminum. I am going to try to be thorough and explain my thought process and concerns and hope you guys are able to help me out.

My initial budget is around $1000-$1200 US for the base 4-axis 6040 CNC.
    I understand there are potential issues with the base electronic components and would plan on upgrading them to ensure higher accuracy/speed and no lost steps, but I would like something that works to some degree out of the box to get familiar before I begin tearing things open and upgrading.
    From my research the G540 is highly touted, as well as adding a smoothstepper. I would likely purchase a USB model 6040 to meet my out of the box needs, but believe I would want to go to ethernet controlled as part of my upgrades in the future.
    I understand mach3 comes with many of these 6040s and have downloaded the trial and watched videos to familiarize myself with it, but have found a lot of other options such as UCCNC that people have spoken highly of.
    I understand the 4th axis which comes with these 6040 is typically on the small/weak size but am hoping it would suffice for foam, at least initially so I could work on learning with it.
    My designs are currently done in blender3d which has an option to export to .stl, but I would be open to learning a new CAD software if it were inexpensive and reduced headaches.