Metal milling machine

Thread: Metal milling machine

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Metal milling machine

Hello everyone
    I'm new to CNC machining and I was looking into buying a new CNC machine for metal work, steel mainly, I digged a bit and ended up buying a chinese CNC Machine
    The 6090 PRO, https://www.ebay.com/itm/CNC-6090-Ro...LI6U:rk:4:pf:0
    It was advertising as a milling machine that's capable of cutting all kind of metals, you can see the details in the link above but that's not where I got it from

After getting it to run and testing it on wood, I tried cutting aluminum manually and it seems to struggle doing that
    Has anyone tested this machine before?

Is there a machine you recommend for such purpose?
    I'm aiming for milling steel bars on 4 axis

Thank you

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Metal milling machine

You bought a wood router/engraver. It will engrave steel, but that's about it. What you need is a milling machine, not a router. Completely different machines.

Something like this would be my choice for milling steel bars. They work well and the TM-2P is about the same work envelope as the machine you bought, available with a 10K RPM spindle.

Metal milling machine-img_5526-jpg

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Metal milling machine-img_5526-jpg  
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Downloads
    Uploads

How big are those steel bars, and what size of parts did you plan to make with them? While the machine Jim shows above would doubtless work, if your parts are small, you might be able to get by with a less expensive mill. But yes, there's no way that Chinese router is going to make parts for you out of steel.

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks for the responses

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post