Stainless steel engraving

Thread: Stainless steel engraving

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Exclamation Stainless steel engraving

Hello everybody, it is my first thread!
    I am a beginner in CNC world, so excuse me in advance for no technical words

As i told i would like to start with a CNC machine to engrave stainless steel, i am a 3D designer (i know artcam). I have seen many machines from 100$ to >20.000$ my goal is to create a kind of punches to stamp design over brass or alluminum, (i think steel is a good material for that right?), so my job is to create "stamps".

I will not use this machine many times, i will create 2-3 punches/stamps every month. I know there are companies that create custom punch based on the customer design but i would like to learn it myself.
    Can anyone help me to find a cnc machine to start my works? If someone want to sell an old machine i am interested in buying it too. but keep in mind it will be my first CNC so i cannot buy machine > 1000$

Thank you so much!

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by cncrome; 05-04-2018 at 05:07 AM.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Stainless steel engraving

I've never heard of anyone making stamps out of stainless steel. Usually tool steel is used. It can be cut in its annealed state and then hardened afterwards. But since you don't have the budget for a machine that can cut stamps with a CNC (just the spindle that's capable of the speed you need will cost more than $1000) I'd suggest looking into a photo-etching process instead: How to Electro-Etch a Solid Metal Plaque

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Downloads
    Uploads

Or get a pantograph. It's not cnc, but they have made thousands of stamp punches over the years. And maybe within your budget.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by greggv View Post