New Product XCarve from inventables

Thread: XCarve from inventables

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default XCarve from inventables

Good afternoon!

Let me begin by saying that I am about as new/green as they come. I have quite a bit of experience in the wood shop and am looking for a way to take my sign making to the next level. However, I have zero experience with CNC.

I recently stumbled across a website called inventables.com and their newest product, Xcarve. From the other kits I have seen around the web this one looks almost too good to be true. I was hoping that here I could get some expert input on this device.

As I have no previous experience with the software necessary to run a commercial CNC the Easel program seems like a logical jumping off point.

I suppose that my real question here is am I going to be disappointed with the capabilities/limitations of this machine after I get into it?

Thanks for the help!

Dallas

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: XCarve from inventables

[quote]
    I suppose that my real question here is am I going to be disappointed with the capabilities/limitations of this machine after I get into it?[QUOTE]

That's impossible to answer without knowing your expectations.

I can tell you that the vast majority of members that post here would consider the X Carve a lightweight toy.

If you're a serious woodworker, with decent quality equipment, then, yes, I think you'll be disappointed.

I don't consider that a "commercial" machine.

And Easel is typically used by hobbiests with these small machines. I don't have any experience with it, and you won't find much if any discussion on it here.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]