New Machine Build Benchtop/ Jeweler's precision lathe build

Thread: Benchtop/ Jeweler's precision lathe build

Lightbulb Benchtop/ Jeweler's precision lathe build

Hi guys, I'm a mechanical design engineer, me and my colleagues will be working on a precision lathe which has a spindle runout of 0.0001", and has a swing distance of 6", it's a small lathe that can be mounted on your desk but can turn various materials from cupper and aluminum to titanium... so considering the precision aspect of the lathe, what should we take into consideration while designing that, specially it's our first time to design lathes? what are your opinions so we don't make costly mistakes?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Benchtop/ Jeweler's precision lathe build

If you need this kind of precision (0.0001") than you also need a constant room temperature, a solid table (not a desktop), guides without play, special lubrication, special tool holders, special chuck/collet, an educated measurement technician and a lot of high precision measurements tools that are periodically calibrated!

Are you sure you really need this?

Quote Originally Posted by hfjbuis View Post
    If you need this kind of precision (0.0001") than you also need a constant room temperature, a solid table (not a desktop), guides without play, special lubrication, special tool holders, special chuck/collet, an educated measurement technician and a lot of high precision measurements tools that are periodically calibrated!

Are you sure you really need this?
    Yes, I need that ! What do you think about the spindle?, what should be the main things that I should consider?.

And yes you're right about the foundation of the machine to be as rigid as possible, I said that just for you to imagine it.