Sharp Mill retrofit

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sharp Mill retrofit

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Sharp Mill retrofit

I finally finished my Sharp LMV retrofit. Mach 2 control, Pacific Scientific AC brushless servos on X, Y and knee. Ballscrews on X and Y. Gas springs on knee.

Regards,
    Rick

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sharp Mill retrofit-imgp0440-jpg   Sharp Mill retrofit-completed-sharp-mach2-mill-jpg  
    Last edited by RJ.; 03-11-2006 at 07:57 PM.

Community Moderator
    Downloads
    Uploads

Well done!
    Are you satisfied with the result?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Well, it's still a work in progress. I still have about .002" backlash in the knee I have to look into. But I am happy to finally have it running. X and Y ballscrews are running well with little to no backlash. I still have dials on X, Y, and knee along with a 3 axis Newall DRO because I am a new machinist-hobbiest, and I still expect to use the machine manually alot while I'm learning.

I would like to take a moment to thank my instructors at De Anza College Department of Manufacturing and CNC Technology for their instruction and help with my project and for teaching me some basics of manual and CNC machining. I have so much to learn. Many thanks to Mike Appio, Scott Wigginton, Larry Brown, Mike Engle, Loren Beall, and especially Chris Newell, without whom I could not have done this project .

First cuts on my machine are dedicated to them. It is the Manufacturing and CNC Technology Department logo. Thank you all.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sharp Mill retrofit-first-cut-jpg   Sharp Mill retrofit-logo-closeup-jpg  

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default sharp cnc ballscrews

I am thinking of doing the same to my sharp mill.
    Where did you get the ballscrews? my table is 50" sort of odd ball,
    I have only cnc on the knee so far. I used a dc gearbox motor and timing