Newbie Problems with cutting the entire tool path(?)

Thread: Problems with cutting the entire tool path(?)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Problems with cutting the entire tool path(?)

So we just built and set up a CNC kit from CNC Router Parts, and we're using VCarve Pro and Mach 3 to run it. I'm a super newbie here and this is my first time running a CNC and obviously it's not going great.

We're doing a test run of the machine by just cutting out letters for a sign, using an end mill bit and just a cut through profile. When I run all the vectors through VCarve the 3d preview shows it coming out perfectly and the correct tool paths and everything.

Then I load the generated G-Code into Mach and turn my machine on, and it does just the outline of one letter (in the incorrect spot of the material) and stops after the outline.

Besides needed to zero everything correctly (I'm assuming this is the issue with incorrect placement in material), what could I be missing and why is my machine stopping?

Thanks!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Problems with cutting the entire tool path(?)

Do you have a licensed copy of Mach3? The demo version of Mach3 will only run about 250 (500?) lines of code.

The zero problem sounds like maybe your starting point is not correct.

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

We downloaded and registered Mach 3, but it still says "Demo" in the task bar, so this may be the issue. I'll check it out. Thank you!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by HiFlyer4 View Post
    We downloaded and registered Mach 3, but it still says "Demo" in the task bar, so this may be the issue. I'll check it out. Thank you!
    If you did not recieve a registration code from Newfnagled Solutions then you still are running the software in Demo mode. Demo will run 500 lines and I can't imagine a single character using the entire 500.