Rack & Pinion X Axis Slipping/Binding on Big Used Mystery Machine

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rack & Pinion X Axis Slipping/Binding on Big Used Mystery Machine

Downloads
    Uploads

Question Rack & Pinion X Axis Slipping/Binding on Big Used Mystery Machine

Hello, I'm very new to CNC. I started playing around with a little X-carve a while back and got some cool results, so I decided to get serious and go ahead and buy a 4'x8' used 3rd hand machine off Craigslist... I'm not sure how to categorize this machine, it looks pretty commercial, but doesn't have any manufacturer's info on it anywhere that I can see. So maybe it's DIY? The only thing I really know is that it used to belong to Virginia Tech.

Unfortunately I don't have any paperwork on it, and I know nothing about electronics yet; but here's a quick video walk around that shows most components:

Anyway, I watched the Mach3 tutorial videos and felt like I had a rough grasp, so I went to test the accuracy of the axes, but before I got to that I noticed the X axis wasn't moving very reliably at all. (I had previously tested this machine before buying it, and all axes worked fine, and I ran a test part with no problems). I checked the diagnostics in Mach3 and everything seemed ok, no LEDS interfering, or error dialogues, so I took off the cover of the X-axis motor assembly thing, and now it seems to be a mechanical issue.

As you can see in this video, the stepper spins with no problem, but the pinion doesn't always pick up that motion:

After I sprayed some lube into the rails and gears and it was moving very easily by hand, it started being even less reliable for some reason: