US: What's a good powerful spindle I can buy, but plug into 110V domestic outlet

Thread: US: What's a good powerful spindle I can buy, but plug into 110V domestic outlet

Downloads
    Uploads

Default US: What's a good powerful spindle I can buy, but plug into 110V domestic outlet

Hi,

I'm a hobbyist who currently has access to large machines and want to embark on a journey on creating my own CNC mill that can cut stainless, even after I loose access to the workshop I'm using right now.

I envision this to be at least a year-long project, mostly because I have no idea about the electronics, but right now, I'm looking at air-cooled spindles, and was looking for a good spindle that I can still plug into a 110V domestic outlet (i know it's a weak sauce, to be honest...) and hopefully still clear mild steel with a EN10

any ideas? or is this a pipe dream?

also, I'm looking at clear path servos for the motion control for the 5 axis, is that a good idea?

thanks

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: US: What's a good powerful spindle I can buy, but plug into 110V domestic outlet

Hi,
    cutting stainless and steel requires a slow speed spindle, say 3000 rpm for a 1/2 inch endmill, but high torque, probably better than 10Nm.

Most spindles sold to hobbyists are high speed low torque asynchronous motors driven by a VFD, typically 24000 rpm, way too fast for use in steel.
    They work well but are not well suited to stainless/steel.

Having only 110V is going to make your search even tougher.

May I suggest that you look at some of the commercially available drill-mills, of which this RongFu45 is typical:

https://rongfu.com/mill-drill-machin...-machine-rf45/

They are rigid enough (just) to do OK in steel and stainless. Anything less rigid will just not work, it will flex and vibrate like hell.

I'm looking at clear path servos for the motion control