Feasibility of Changing Over 3 ph motor on Trak 1440 to 1 phase

Thread: Feasibility of Changing Over 3 ph motor on Trak 1440 to 1 phase

Default Feasibility of Changing Over 3 ph motor on Trak 1440 to 1 phase

I am basically a hobby machinist who does odd jobs on the side.

I bought a Trak 1440 S lathe last summer, and, now that my shop is close to being finished, I'm looking at how to install it.

Even though its a CNC lathe, you get various spindle speeds via a manually shifted gear box and a 2 speed, 3 phase motor.

My biggest concern is how to operate it's 2 speed 3 phase motor on single phase power. The motor is rated at 2.5hp/4.5hp. I would like to use a VFD to operate the lathe but I contacted Southwestern Industries, and they said I need to use a computer quality rotary phase converter (RPC) at double the motor hp.

When I contacted a company about getting a RPC, I was told that I needed a 15 hp PRC--it seems they added the individual hp of each speed range and doubled it, rather than rate it from the highest hp of the motor. IOW, if I have to get a RPC, I'm hoping a 10 hp RPC should work, instead of a 15hp.

Even so, aside from the high cost of the RPC, it wouldn't be very energy efficient.

I'm not an electrician, but looking at the wiring diagram, it appears that only the motor and the coolant pump run on 3 phase 220 V. The voltage is reduced to 115V for the controls and servo motors.

Would it be feasible to replace the 3 phase motor with a single phase 220v motor, and hook up the other electrical components separately? Or, run just the motor with a Variable Frequency Drive and power the other components separately?

I've uploaded some pictures of the components in the electrical panel as well as wiring diagrams... hopefully they will help--they're over my head.

Any thoughts or input would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Smitty

Similar Threads: