Newbie Hi I am looking to build a CNC mill/router....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi I am looking to build a CNC mill/router....

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Hi I am looking to build a CNC mill/router....

Hi I am kain kelly, I am looking to build a CNC mill/router hybrid. I only have hand drawings at the moment, I worked with cancer/cad in highschool. We used rhino and I am still learning free cad and CNC tool kit.

I am hoping to cut steel, stainless steel and unlikely but possibly titinium attached are my hand sketch's, ignore the top one on the far right and the one on the vary bottom left. I need to come up with better ways of doing those. (One is to mount the work table on and the other was to raise the linear rails up to prevent some flexing.) This will be a moving gantery that will be a three screw machine made largely from 3/8 steel with a epoxy granite fill. Machine size is not set in stone but I am thinking between 24*36 and 30*40. For a spindle I am looking at a 2.2kw "milling" head, however the RPMs are WAY to high to mill with. I have pondered as a first project to make a plantary gear reduction to get the RPMs down to something more reasonable for metal working. However I think that is a entire different thread.

The top middle drawing is for my X axis, it will me a 3/8 wall by 4*3 C channel that will be braced by welding in 3/8 plate every four inches filled with epoxy granite. All plates will be 3/8 and I really don't know how to explain the bracing I have come up with.

I am building this machine with the hope I will be able to easily move it in and out of a apartment, or at least easier than a converted mill. While taking up less space for work area, being in a apartment noise isolation and a enclosure are musts of course. However those are not rocket science, and I am still going over different designs for them.