Help to pick small (not mini) CNC Lathe

Thread: Help to pick small (not mini) CNC Lathe

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question Help to pick small (not mini) CNC Lathe

I would like some help in deciding which type of cnc lathe would but right for our shop. We currently use a manual metal lathe and would like to improve our productivity in this area due to all the HOT Jobs.
    We would be using this for a job shop type of work not really mass production. We would be turning small items 1/4"-2" diameter and 1"-12" in length. We turn a lot of Nylatron / Nylon, and non ferrous metals.
    We do mostly outside turning (small pins with steps in the end) but also need to do ID turning (bore a hole in the end). We would also need to be able to turn inside & outside threads. An automatic stock feed would be nice.

I would like to keep our price below $15,000 (if new) and would be willing to look at good used machines for the right price. As I am new to this, I don't know if this is even within the price range for this type of cnc lathe.

Thanks for any help

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

For jobs that size i'd recommend a 6" chuck. No way will you get a new machine for $15,000 though. A place I worked bought a brand new 12" chucker and it was about £60,000. Thats pounds not dollars. For your price range i'd go for one about 2-3 years old. Just like cars they lose a lot in price during the first few years so second hand will be best.

IMO, Mori Seiki make the best machines but you will pay big for one of these. Plenty other companies make decent machines though and at a cheaper price. Daewoo, Yang and Nakamura to name but three.

Downloads
    Uploads

I'm not up on CNC lathes much. I want one like a dog but don't have the work for one right now.
    For your type of work maybe the Haas TL1 might be of interest. You con get one for a little over 20K new.

As for used I have been keeping an eye on this machine for a while.