Newbie Bending 1/2" square steel rod

Thread: Bending 1/2" square steel rod

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Bending 1/2" square steel rod

Hello,

I'm fairly new to metal working and its a pretty harsh learning curve. You all seem to be quite versed in the trade so I figure this would be a pretty good place to ask. I'm attempting to build a wine rack and part of the design consists of bending one long piece of square steel rod at 1/2" into a large "U" shape. I need the radius of the "U" shape to be about 10-12". I've searched a lot online for an answer of the best tool or method to accomplish this but everything I come up with generally talks about compact benders which from my understanding can only bend much smaller radii. This is the largest piece of the project so it is sort of holding the whole thing up. If anyone has any insight into the best method, or a reasonable tool I can purchase to do this that would be awesome. Thanks in advance.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

That size can probably be bent around a wooden form cut to the desired radius, see the picture:

Black is a circle of wood screwed to a plywood base.
    Blue is a block to hold one end of the bar.
    Red is the length of bar.
    Yellow is a piece of pipe to give leverage. Start with the pipe slid down close to the circle of wood, bend a little then pull it back slightly and bend some more. This keeps the bend tight against the wooden form.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Bending 1/2" square steel rod-bender2-jpg  
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads