Need Help! CAD/CAM beginner, which CAD/CAM software to use?

Thread: CAD/CAM beginner, which CAD/CAM software to use?

Downloads
    Uploads

Lightbulb CAD/CAM beginner, which CAD/CAM software to use?

Hello people.
    I am electrical engineer and have a little experience with SolidWorks and NO experience with CAM softwares.
    I have 800x800mm self made CNC machine and plan to use it for woodmilling and other soft materials, maybe aluminium sometimes.
    I am self taught mechanist, i will finish my cnc soon and I am thinking about which CAD and CAM software to use.

So I know a little SolidWorks, I can go to other CAD software, no problem, just tell me please which CAD and CAM software you suggest me to use.
    Priority is failry easy/fast to learn and good performance.

Thank you,

Matic

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: CAD/CAM beginner, which CAD/CAM software to use?

I would recommend Vectric - it is simple and versatile. They have several priced different packages.

Downloads
    Uploads

Take a look at MOI (Moment of Inspiration). It's a powerful CAD program that's simple to use (especially compared to something like Solidworks). We also sell DeskProto, which is a similarly intuitive CAM program that's very attractively priced for hobbyists.

Andrew Werby
    computersculpture.com

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi,
    I use Fusion 360 by Autodesk. It combines CAD, CAM, generative design and simulation, FEA analysis and PCB design in one package. It does a pretty good job.
    With some limitations it is free to Hobbyists and start-ups, and a subscription is $500/year.

The Manufacturing module, ie CAM, is quite good. It does all the regular 2D and 2.5D toolpaths and a good selection of 3D toolpaths. OK, they are not a patch on MasterCAM