Newbie Recommend hobbyist CAM software for 4 axis mill

Thread: Recommend hobbyist CAM software for 4 axis mill

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Recommend hobbyist CAM software for 4 axis mill

I'm looking into buying a 4-axis mill with Fanuc 0M control. Not a done deal yet but I'll buy a CNC mill at some point no matter what so I figured it's time to explore the options. Are there any CAMs that are free or not too expensive that work well with 4 axis machines? I've never used CAM before. Also, anyone happen to know if the 3DExperience Solidworks Makers license includes same CAM functionality as Solidworks 2021 normally does and if that's usable?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Recommend hobbyist CAM software for 4 axis mill

Give DeskProto a try. The multi-axis edition has various 4th-axis strategies, and there's a special price for hobbyists.It's pretty simple to use; it was developed for non-machinists, so there's not a lot you need to learn. We sell it for the same price in dollars that it lists for in Euros. https://computersculpture.com/deskproto/

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Downloads
    Uploads

There's mentioned that it's not permitted to sell any products made by it. I do sell some products mainly for one guy who builds and sells some Crosskart cars for kids but it's been below €1000 a year and probably won't rise very much in the near future

Also what does it mean when it says there that it's not intended for mechanical type parts. (that's mostly what I do.)

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi,
    Fusion 360 is free to hobbyists and start-ups but with some restrictions, which I would guess includes coordinated 4th axis.
    I have a yearly subscription for $500/year. My understanding is that full coordinated 4th axis has just been (approx 6 week ago) released for this class of license.