Is there a CAM software that can be "cheated" to do this?

Thread: Is there a CAM software that can be "cheated" to do this?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Is there a CAM software that can be "cheated" to do this?

Hi all,

Partly due to being a newbie I am using Estlcam to do my CNC millings, and I would be very interested in finding a way to either:

1.: “cheat” Estlcam so that I can make something like the attached shape. Not exactly this shape but the idea is to be able to mill vertically into the material in a double-curvature way. The end mill to use would be something like this with a shank (much) smaller than the spherical mill itself thus allowing for some "side-ways" milling depth:

https://www.google.dk/search?q=ball+...cuwoZKxB7zFZM:

The material will be wood so the spherical end mill needs only be reasonably strong/rigid/tough.

... or ...

2.: find a free/price-wise very accessible software which can make the relevant g-codes - which may then subsequently be imported into Estlcam.

Some have suggested two-sided milling – but this will not really solve the challenge as it still doesn’t allow for milling vertically into the material … I hope you can visualize this …

The main “issue” I guess is that Estlcam does not allow for an end mill of this type. However, I hope there may be a way to make it work with such a spherical end mill.

Might any of you know how this can be done?

Thanks for reading and maybe suggesting

Jesper

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Is there a CAM software that can be "cheated" to do this?-shape-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Is there a CAM software that can be "cheated" to do this?

Some have suggested two-sided milling – but this will not really solve the challenge as it still doesn’t allow for milling vertically into the material … I hope you can visualize this …
    If you need to mill into the top, do it as a separate operation after the 2 sided milling.