Need Help! CAD/Gcode for hobbyist

Thread: CAD/Gcode for hobbyist

Downloads
    Uploads

Unhappy CAD/Gcode for hobbyist

Hi Forum,

I have been using SW and CW4SW and I find these very good - esp in the design and assembly aspects. However, that being said I am a hobbyist armed with simple CNC lathe and mill from Sherline and i face quite a few challenges 'dumbing down' the g code for sherline via mach3.

over my intermittent efforts, I have learnt much (not enough but much more than when I started out) but alas for my use it gets complicated when I need to strip out code because something does not work at the mill side.

so after that I quite familiar with CAD so I am looking for recommendations for a simplified CAD/CAM program that better meets my needs. Specifically, my mill has a 4th axis which I have not used yet (as above) but would like to.

any pointers would be of great assistance.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: CAD/Gcode for hobbyist

Athough it is 2.5 D software, have a look at SimplyCam from MR-Soft Nc Software Tools

It suppports Mill, Lathe, and CNC Tables, is easy to use, very powerful, flexible and very inexpensive.

It includes Postprocessors for a large number of targets including Mach. The Postprocessor is highly customisable and after running it invokes an editor where you can add/strip code that you know doesn't suit your target. You could probably customise multiple copies of the same Postprocessor files to suit your target machine by selecting the processor just before creating the code

If you combine this with G-Code Ripper from G-Code Ripper you can convert code to support a 4th axis.

Cheers,

HarryE.

Downloads
    Uploads

You might take a look at DeskProto (which we sell). It can write code from your 3D mesh files (STL, DXF, WRL) that will run your Sherline mill, including live 4-axis routines (not just indexing). There's special pricing for hobbyists that makes the cost quite reasonable.

Andrew Werby