Ragged edges to finished parts

Thread: Ragged edges to finished parts

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Ragged edges to finished parts

I am a teacher of Design Technology and recently got involved with CNC work, both at school and as part of my hobby of competition aero modelling. A lot of what I do with my students is a spin-off from my work at home and whilst most of it has been 2.5D, I have started machining 3D patterns for making wing and fuselage moulds.

The problem I am encountering is that the finished, 3D parts are coming out with ragged edges, when those edges are not quite parallel to the X axis. This is despite my machine's capability of 0.01mm resolution. I am supposing this is to do with the software's interpretation of the model which was created using Pro/Desktop, exported as a .stl file and the toolpath created from that file. Is this a limitation of .stl files? If so, which is the best format for faithful reproduction of 3D models and can anyone recommend good, cheap software for creating toolpaths from said files?

The problem of affordable software for educational use is a serious one and one that ought to be addressed by manufacturers as we ought to be using industry standard software, albeit cuy-down versions, to educate the engineers of the future.

As a relative newbie to CNC machining and a definite one to this group, I hope this is posted in the right place.

Thanks in anticipation.

Mike

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi Mike F,

I have been told that stl files are not good for machining from. Isn't that based on a mesh of some sort?

Anyways, for your other question "cheap software", what is cheap to you? Maybe we can recommend what would be the best you can get, for your needs and budget.