Cam Systems Input

Thread: Cam Systems Input

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Cam Systems Input

I am looking for input on a new CAM system for the shop I work at. We currently use GibbsCam and SmartCam ffm. I have programmed for many years with Gibbs and find it to be very capable system. I am new to this company and I find that the other programmers dont like Gibbs and prefer to use Smartcam so they can control almost every move the machine makes. There complaint with Gibbs is there are to many "Air cuts" in the code. I find this to be more a use of the system than a fault of the system itself. So now I am looking for a system that will kind of meet in the middle as far as automated processes with some more control of tool toolpaths than gibbs offers. One of the programmers raves about UG and Mastercam. I would like to hear about all other systems as well. Our shop is a mid sized job shop that makes parts for the medical and electronics industries. I would descibe the parts we do as moderately complex with about 10-20% requiring some surfacing. Thanks for your input

Jday

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

UG and Mastercam are good candidates. I would get a few names, contact the dealers, and have them come out to YOUR shop, and demo their software on YOUR parts. That way you can see the ins and outs of each, and the flexability.

Having been a long time Gibbs and Smartcam, and a current long time Mastercam user, my money would be with Mastercam. (I haven't used UG, so I won't comment.)

There's a host of others out there.

GL in your search, and Welcome to the Forum. No matter what you decide on, you'll prolly find lots of help here..

'Rekd

Matt
    San Diego, Ca

___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Downloads
    Uploads

J,

I would suggest that you take a look at OneCNC xp series.