Need Help! Cad/cam Software recommendation please

Thread: Cad/cam Software recommendation please

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Lightbulb Cad/cam Software recommendation please

I'm looking for a software recommendation please. I'd like to design small medallion or coin sized objects. I'm familiar with the Adobe suite of products. I own a license. My background is in construction, I use cad tools on a daily basis. Mostly softplan, but have a bit of knowledge of autocad.

If you were going to draw an exact replica of a US quarter or half dollar with the intent of milling it on a cnc, what software would you use? No, I'm not looking to forge some coins. I'm actually an avid golfer, and I'd like to create my own custom ball marker. Something nobody else has. Something nobody else can get.

I have several friends with cnc equipment that I can have machine this for me. One guy has a fadal 30 hp machine. Not sure what the others have. But they are all large machines used for prototyping and large parts.

I know I could design what I want in Adobe, but that doesn't help in the machining process. Id like to be able to give them a file, and say, "machine this for me."

Knowing my my end result is to generate the appropriate gcode, what would you use to design the coin? Obviously, I don't want to spend a ton of money on a software package to do my own design work. But I want to be able to give them something easy for them to convert and use, or they may not do the favor for me.

Ive looked at fusion360. Not sure about the engraving or carving capabilities. The finished coin will either have relief carved letters or raised lettering. So text handling is an issue. Coin size is approximately 2" diameter .125" thick.

Thoughts or suggestions? I really want to do this myself rather than hiring a designer. Kind of a hobby. Kind of so I can say I made and designed it myself.

Thanks for for your consideration and help!

Rick

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads