Cutting from Chuck toward Tailstock question?

Thread: Cutting from Chuck toward Tailstock question?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Cutting from Chuck toward Tailstock question?

Hi Everyone,
    I'm new to CNC and recently purchased a HAAS ST-10 Lathe.
    I am cutting the OD profile on 3" dia PVC plastic.
    As the cutting starts at the face and heads toward the chuck the plastic piles up
    against the chuck. I have to keep pausing and removing the wound up plastic that is cut. I was thinking if I can run the program in reverse cutting from the chuck toward the tail stock the cut plastic would just get pushed of the end of the work piece.
    Any advice on how to run the program the opposite way would be very helpful.

Thank you in advance!
    Christian

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Cutting from Chuck toward Tailstock question?

Try Back to Front cutting, normally an option in your CAM setup

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Downloads
    Uploads

hy if you wish, i can help with generic code

also, if you cut towards z+, is ok to reverse coolant noozles, as to not opose chips evacuation direction; may be plastic, but is not a must to cut it dry

another trick to break chips, is to peck turning, like breaking a continuous motion into small segments / kindly

we are merely at the start of " Internet of Things / Industrial Revolution 4.0 " era : a mix of AI, plastics, human estrangement, powerful non-state actors ...

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi Jim,
    Thanks for you suggestion!
    I'm not using a CAM program. I made the Program using the VPS and Shape Creator software that is the HAAS software on the lathe. It was very helpful since I am just starting out and don't know how to write code yet. Maybe I need to see if it has the Back to Front cutting somewhere in there.

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi deadlykitten,