teaching question

Thread: teaching question

Downloads
    Uploads

Default teaching question

hi
    I've been machining for over 30 yrs but I was wondering if I can get some help from you guys. I'm a member at my local Maker's space and I'm trying to setup a basic machining class. Most of my students will be artists or extreme entry level so alot of the class will be on safety but I'll need to have basic measuring and basic operation too...the goal is to have them be able to do basic stuff on there own after taking the class. I'm also trying to come up with a project for them to make ( in the limited timeframe )..I am also doing a similar thing with a mill so I may even try to come up with a project that uses both machines...so I have cross posted on the lathe section too

Class will consist of 2-4 students and a timeframe of 1-2 days of 4-8 hours

Has anyone attempted some thing similar?

attached picks of machine we are using...thanks for any help

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails teaching question-lathe-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: teaching question

Many years ago I taught a class at a makerspace, I came up with a small pencil holder/paperweight that used both a small lathe amd a mill. Totally useless, but a good exercise in both turning and milling. The holder was attached to the base with a screw. I designed so it required most of the simple operations that you would do on either machine.

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Downloads
    Uploads

...great idea but, in 2-3 days shake n bake engineers ? thats tough to do......have them bring in something mechanical that needs to be fixed from home maybe, and teach them How to fish.

goodluck

Downloads
    Uploads

hy this seems fine for a crash course; it covers the basics on the fly, simple & efficient