Input for lathe turning center for newbie.

Thread: Input for lathe turning center for newbie.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Input for lathe turning center for newbie.

Im looking for a start up turning center and was pretty close to pulling the trigger on a 2005 Femco HL-25. Im not new to CNC milling BUT the milling I have done in the past was only organic surface models and sculputure milled in wax. I have basic knowledge and experience in manual mill and lathe. I have no CNC lathe or turning center experience at all. I am working Fusion 360 for CAM and CAM as well as Rhino for CAD. I have been a CAD designer 3D modeler, digital sculpor for 20+ years. I have basic skills programming in Fusion BUT have no real experience with mechanical assembly parts on either mill or lathe. The end goal is a start-up business making parts for the retail market. I am not trying to become a machine job shop. I will only be prototyping and doing small production runs of my products. another big consideration is I need to set up and install whatever machine I end up with in my home garage shop (3 car garage).

My question is, IS an older (late90s early 2000s) turret style turning center with Func controller just too much to learning curve to get into this? OR should I take the advice of a seasoned fabricator & machine and buy a Tormach and start small?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Input for lathe turning center for newbie.