Homemade Junk Lathe(Help with Motor)

Thread: Homemade Junk Lathe(Help with Motor)

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Homemade Junk Lathe(Help with Motor)

Hello, I been searching the forum and other sites for a solution to my problem. Short question is Im looking for a dc motor with a power supply and rpm regulator, super simple rpm regulator and on off switch. its for a lathe that is 50cm long with a 80mm chuck, and I will be turning silver rings and other small parts for jewelry.

Im a student so I dont have much money, so im looking for simple solutions that wont cost all that much, I started building the lathe with out no knowledge of engineering so its wont be a perfectly precise machine nor the best engineered one but I think it will do its job when I get it finished. The only cost the lathe has had so far has been some screws, cutting disks and a Chinese 80mm chuck. It has been a lot of work though could probably have bought a small used lathe for the hours I spent on it but It was fun and I had the time.

I looked at skateboard, scooter and Ebike motors to be used with some sort of rpm regulator but the videos on youtube I found they are really loud not the motor but the rpm regulators has this constant whistling or beeping sound like in rc cars and my ears cant handle that.

I looked at sewing machine motors as well but they are either to weak or to much for what I need so im a bit lost on what I should do. Maybe ill find a solution but thought I should make a post here since there are so many experts here that actually know what they are doing.

Cheers!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Homemade Junk Lathe(Help with Motor)

I found this
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/200W-180V...oAAOSwV6VfU9NI
    May be to weak either way they dont ship to Sweden.

I uploaded a image of the where im at with the lathe, like I said its not a good build but it will do Ill have to make a real spindle eventually but it should do for now.