Newbie Tormach 770 Newbie?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tormach 770 Newbie?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Tormach 770 Newbie?

Looking into a used 770.
    Total newbie with minimal experience with my Taig but this popped up and I may jump on it.

If I get a 770 what minimal tools should I be looking at? I plan on mostly doing aluminum
    It will come with the basic tool set (no end mills) and flood coolant (has height gauge too)
    I haven't seen a basic end mill set and drill set. Also can't decide if I should get 1 or 2 vises? Again not all that sure of what I will be doing just yet. Up until now most things have been 3"x4" since I'm limited on my current bed

Also looking for a decent DIY enclosure. Tormach had one on their site but all links are broke and I can't fathom the idea of spending $3k on one.

I love the idea of a fixture plate but only ever seen the one smw. However I'd too scared to crash into it for now so looking for some cheaper alternatives or if it's easy enough to make seeing how the 770 can thread.
    Obviously this is worlds apart from my little taig so want to be sure I dont waste money on non needed items.

Any help is appreciated

Similar Threads:
    MaxNC15 - currently under construction
    Torchmate 2x2 with Flashcut CNC Controls

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Tormach 770 Newbie?

Talk of "Minimal tools" and multiple vises and fixture plates probably should not be in the same sentence! And particularly not if you have no specific projects in mind.

I assume that you have a way to cut stock to size.