Newbie Hello, just purchased used Tormach 1100 series 1 in WI

Thread: Hello, just purchased used Tormach 1100 series 1 in WI

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Hello, just purchased used Tormach 1100 series 1 in WI

Hello world, I am not a machinist by trade but I am a maker, designer and builder. I just built a heated shop and this was my first large tool purchase. I’ve been into 3d printing for a while now and am pretty familiar with fusion 360, so that will be my designing and cam software for the Tormach. I’ve been in the industrial power business for almost 2 decades, so I’ve run and been around lathes, mills and cnc’s for quite some time, but I have a lot of learning to do since it’s not my main skill set. So I think I got a good deal on this 1100 (serial number 325), got it at auction for $3050 plus fees and taxes, and it was close by, (15 miles) so I think I did good. I plan on doing some upgrades when I get around to it, I’m still finishing up shop essentials so it might be a little bit until I get to it. What are some recommendations for upgrades for this machine? Was looking at the leadshine steppers and drivers and also the new VFD for the spindle motor. I am having issues with the limit switches off the bat, I am going to try the ferrite suppressor on the parallel computer cable as per the manual and hopefully that helps. So, whatever tips, tricks or maybe a “what I would do” would be nice to share and be insightful! Thanks and I am excited to be here!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Hello, just purchased used Tormach 1100 series 1 in WI

Nice score! Call Tormach and they can guide you on upgrades...

Downloads
    Uploads

Awesome deal!

Downloads
    Uploads