New Machine Build - Shipping Container Machine Shop w/PCNC 1100

Thread: - Shipping Container Machine Shop w/PCNC 1100

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default - Shipping Container Machine Shop w/PCNC 1100

Hi Everyone,

So I've lurked and read and learned and lurked some more long enough! This all came about because of a design I have been working on for close to 3 years which evolved to a point I decided to quit my job in Oil & Gas and go on my own again. I've put myself on a budget to start a small machine shop and will be launching a product this summer/fall as I hone my skills and build the business.

I will be spending a decent part of the budget getting the machine and tooling up which is why I am going the shipping container route. I don't have a garage and not going to rent space somewhere when I haven't had sales yet. Besides, a 40' container cost me $2500 and at about $6K I'll have it all built out.

Shop Layout:
    -  Shipping Container Machine Shop w/PCNC 1100-shop-layout-png

Where I'm at today:
    -  Shipping Container Machine Shop w/PCNC 1100-1801-jpg

CNC Mill goes all the way in the back on a 2" fiber reinforced concrete slab w/ stand feet going to be on epoxy resin pads centered on top of the steel trusses. I still have a bit of concern on machine vibration. Honestly, if I had to do it over again I can't say I'd pour 4" foundation instead of 2" (that was the biggest pain in the a.. of the project so far hand mixing concrete in a wheelbarrow.

Found an awesome little rolling tool chest for $199 so instead of the $195 machine arm to put monitor, keyboard, controller on I get a cool tool cart same height with some storage benefit for tools. It goes on the right, then a computer desk for laptop, screens and 3D printer. Then, coming back more I have assembly/QA benches (Qty 2) 8 foot long with pegboard behind them. Will add shelving at top of them later. Then a Shipping rack back at the entrance.