Reverse Engineer Smart Cool

Thread: Reverse Engineer Smart Cool

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Reverse Engineer Smart Cool

The Tormach SmartCool appears to be a great tool but, as a mostly hobbyist, I can't justify its cost. Has anyone investigated reverse engineering it?.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Reverse Engineer Smart Cool

Downloads
    Uploads

That thread was my original inspiration! BTW my Leonardo now convinces PP that it is a SmartCool and it understands coolant on/off, alt-U, alt-D, etc.

Downloads
    Uploads

All good thoughts and I considered most before starting anything. I'll try to explain my decision process:
    Yes, it is a small volume accessory so the price has to be high to recoup development costs. I have no intentions of selling a substitute.

If I were running a production shop I wouldn't hesitate to purchase a turnkey unit. I see this as mainly a learning exercise between paying work and a way to keep my aging brain working.

My coding skills with micros is far better than with Linux so I wanted to minimize PP changes. Plus, it is an ongoing pain to retrofit changes after each PP release.

Using a stepper has many advantages but requires some sort of homing mechanism to position it on startup. I didn't want to require a custom PCB to combine the micro and stepper driver for a one-off. With that in mind I'm using a R/C servo. That means the only electronics is the micro, a relay board to control the air blast pneumatic valve and a wall-wart power supply.

I'm still fighting to get the aiming exactly right. However, aiming is sorta working, air on/off, timed air, wiggle mode and the keyboard shortcuts are all working. Total code is less than 300 lines including lots of comments and debug code. The electronics cost about $15 plus $25 for the servo. Now to complete the mechanics and box things!

Downloads
    Uploads