Building a controller for an LC 3024 -- what kinda servo amplifier?

Thread: Building a controller for an LC 3024 -- what kinda servo amplifier?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Building a controller for an LC 3024 -- what kinda servo amplifier?

So i came across an LC 3024 at PublicSurplus, bid on it, and won.

It does not appear to come with the controller, though the spindle inverter is still attached. Unknown condition according to the school district that put it up for auction, of course. There's no telling why. I actually haven't driven out to retrieve it yet.

I've read the documentation that I could find. Interfaced through a scsi card? Wild. Also not sorry I don't have that specific piece.

I have a brother-in-law who is a certified machinist but I don't want to wear him out with questions. I'm a beginner, in the sense that i have been messing around with 3d printers and the like for about 5 years.

I have a collection of OK quality wire crimpers in various styles, a pretty decent collection of soldering and desoldering equipment and I'm comfortable building cables, doing board level repairs, etc.

It's clear that, no matter what control solution i pick (leaning toward centroid acorn at the moment), I will need servo amplifiers.

I don't know anything about those.

What should i look for?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Building a controller for an LC 3024 -- what kinda servo amplifier?

Hi,
    you need to positively identify the axis motors. If they are DC or brushless analog servos then you will need either servo amplifiers and a motion control capable of closing the loop (not
    Centroid Acorn) OR servo drives that can close the loop like Geko G320's. Thereafter a Step/Dir controller like Centroid Acorn would work.

Many people buy second hand machinery and then try to re-use the existing servos...which are often old and from a previous generation of control. They reason that its cheaper to do so....