Help Please - Z-axis NOT functioning

Thread: Help Please - Z-axis NOT functioning

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Help Please - Z-axis NOT functioning

Hi,
    Please help!
    Im new to CNC machines and just bought an Industrial Artesan 4x8 used for 3 months. My Z-axis is just making a buzzing sound and not spinning when I try to hold pag up or down keyboard keys. I was told to change the stepper motor controller then the power transformer and the Z was still not working(X and Y axis work fine). I plugged the Z stepper motor into A different controller and then the Z works fine. I was told to check all boards inside the control box for burned components but all are fine. The “life help support” refused to help since I didnt buy directly from them even though the machine is technically brand new. The only part that I haven't changed yet is the one on my 2nd photo uploaded here.
    Thank you

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Help Please  - Z-axis NOT functioning-c3377825-22d8-47f3-aa3d-91e76a758836-jpg   Help Please  - Z-axis NOT functioning-3b939e88-77db-450f-802a-032ef1f4a349-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Help Please - Z-axis NOT functioning

My guess would be either a dryjoint on the board or a broken wire. difficult to diagnose without being there.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Help Please - Z-axis NOT functioning

Did the Z axis ever work properly?
    If so, was there anything of note that happened before it stopped working?

When you swapped the motor to the other driver, did you use the same wiring harness going from the motor to the driver? In other words, which end did you swap - the motor end, or the driver end?

What control software does your machine use? Mach 3?

There are a few things that can cause a stepper motor to make a buzzing noise and not move (or move very poorly):