Taig Flycutter

Thread: Taig Flycutter

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Taig Flycutter

What fly cutter do you guys use / recommend for use with your Taigs?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

I use the Taig 1224ER (or 1224 for 3/4-16 spindle). Works well and is a pretty good deal for $20.00. I'm not immediatly aware of another ER-16 sized fly-cutter but I'm sure they are out there.

I would give a link to the picture of the taig 1224ER on my web-page but I have not had time to get all the accessories back up in the new shopping cart format. They are in stock though.

Last edited by Jeff-Birt; 05-07-2009 at 09:58 AM.
    Jeff Birt

Downloads
    Uploads

I have only fly cut a couple times, I used the 3/8" shanked fly cutter (part number: 1224ER) from Carter Tools.

It seemed to work fine but, like I said, I have very little experience. In fact I ordered the fly cutter at the same time as my Taig, but was too chicken to actually try it until recently. Let me tell you: it's very easy, just make light passes.

The person over at NYCCNC is also using this fly cutter and has posted a video of him using it on some aluminum...
    http://www.nyccnc.com/Herbie/HERBIES..._the_TAIG.html

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks guys, I ordered that one from Carter Tools. Can't wait to try it out!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Also Flycutting

Please excuse me for butting in. I just did my first flycut job in aluminum on my Sherline, I tried both the cutter type as shown in your pic, and the Sherline head with the indexable carbide insert. It was one of the most pleasurable experiences I've had with the mill so far. The chips go EVERYWHERE, I'm still picking them out of my shoes.
    My Z-axis is not trammed in, and I had a problem with a double-cut as I drove the head past center of the axis across the part. The aluminum went from very rough 2-flute finish to almost a mirror!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads