Newbie Backlash & Estop measurements using the digital encoder question.

Thread: Backlash & Estop measurements using the digital encoder question.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Backlash & Estop measurements using the digital encoder question.

All the manuals I've read show using tools to read the backlash amount. I've a 7ish year old dsls micromill, with rotary encoders. Is there a reason I can't split the signals off to a separate reader that can keep track of the absolute position of the machine at all times (dont worry about the electronics, I design digital electronics for a living), its the mechanical / pulses that I'm curious about. Shouldn't that give me the exact count of pulses on a backlash?, as well as allowing me to reset the system by entering the absolute co-ordinates back into
    mach3, (after jogging the machine in a standardized direction to account for backlash). I've just found that when something sounds this simple,, I'm usually missing something.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Backlash & Estop measurements using the digital encoder question.

Not sure if I got your question. Do you want to find out the amount backlash without mechanical measurements?

Downloads
    Uploads

If you're talking about rotary encoders on the back of steppers, don't they just read bits of information to tell you of position errors?. Don't do anything with it other than fault?.
    DRO scales might help you read physical positions but again won't do anything with it.

You sound like you need servo's and the like that have indexing and high speed pulse feedback etc.

Downloads
    Uploads