New guy with a new taig 5019

Thread: New guy with a new taig 5019

Downloads
    Uploads

Default New guy with a new taig 5019

Howdy peeps

I am brand new to the cnc world , I found this forum and it looks like it'll be a big help when I start asking a whole bunch of questions so dumb they are bound to lower your IQ just from reading them .

Anyway , the shut down has me unemployed and bored as heck .
    So I decided that instead of spending my stimulus money on crack and hookers I'd find me a new hobby .
    I bought a brand spanking new taig 5019 ball screw cnc mill .

You might ask why , heck if I know. It seemed like a good idea .

What do I want to make ? Yet another good question I don't have an answer for . Unless wanting to make a fortune is a good answer .

Do I have any machining experience?
    Well yes I do , I have a grizzly g0602 lathe and a g0704 mill .
    And I've even used them a few times .

Ok , ok , I know what you all are already thinking .. this guys an idiot .
    Point taken I may very well be an idiot .
    I just spent $2995 on a mill I don't have a clue on how to use .
    And I don't have two more dollars to rub together to buy any tooling or accessories for it .

But that doesn't matter , I downloaded fusion and after 5 hours I can't even make a square box
    So yea .. who needs tools .

I guess it may be odd for a new guy to say this , but I don't even have a single question yet .
    Well to be honest , I don't know what kind of questions I should have because all I know about cnc is that I have a mill on a ups truck somewhere on its way to me .

Not the most thought out plan in the universe I guess .
    But hey I'm here and thought I'd say howdy .

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: New guy with a new taig 5019

howdy, and welcome to the group.

I'm guessing no one round here will judge you for buying tools you don't necessarily need.

when you do have questions post them up!

Downloads
    Uploads