Need Help! Taig vs X2 vs Sherline?

Thread: Taig vs X2 vs Sherline?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Taig vs X2 vs Sherline?

Hi,

I'm a newbie looking for a metal capable mill that will be eventually converted to CNC. Here are criteria:

1. What is the best bang for the buck? Taig 2019 CNC ready vs Sherline vs generic X2 + conversion?
    2. I mostly will probably use the machine for aluminium and occasional steel

What cost is involved to make a Taig 2019 CNC ready machine to CNC? Do I just need to get stepper motors + drivers + controller? It seems like X2 actually costs more to converted to CNC than Taig. Base machine ~ $700 + $600 conversion kit to make it CNC ready compare to $1200 of Taig?

Should I get a manual Taig and upgrade to CNC later on so I can learn how to mill manually?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Taig vs X2 vs Sherline?

It really depends on what you want the mill to do. The Taig mills are a bit stouter than the Sherlines, and they now have a ball screw option. But Sherline mills work well within their part envelope, and they offer a wider range of accessories. The X2 isn't a brand, but a general category of machines that vary quite a bit - here's a chart that lays out the differences between variants: https://littlemachineshop.com/info/minimill_compare.php Basically the X2 is a heavier mill than either the Taig or Sherline, but as you've noted, they require a lot of work before they're ready for CNC.