Used Taig CNC okay price at $800?

Thread: Used Taig CNC okay price at $800?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Used Taig CNC okay price at $800?

Hi, Gang,

I have been looking for an affordable way to get started with the CNC process. I understand it from a comfortable 10-foot distance, but I have never used a mill. My budget is minimal. I will not use the machine for commercial work. I have the space for a big ol' VMC, but not the AC power. I would love an expensive, awesome mill with a big work area, but it will have to come after this one (the first). I am a veteran PC tech and electronics guy, so I can handle the power supplies, wiring, motion controllers, serial ports, etc. The software (3D, CAD-CAM, G-Code, etc) is substantially similar for most machines, and this seems to be where the real "learning curve" takes place.

QUESTION:

I may have an opportunity to buy an essentially unused Taig CNC mill that was new in 2009/2010. It comes with a PC (which I don't need), and I think it comes with Mach 3, which I probably do need) and a bunch of end mills, an extra set of Taig-supplied steppers (intended for an identical mill but never used). The old-timer who bought the mills new used one with traditional mechanical controls (which he was familiar with), but never really used the one that came from Taig set up for CNC. That's the one he's selling (cuz he never really used it and he's now in his '80s, he says it ain't gonna happen).

He's had the stuff for sale months at $1250, with no takers. I offered him $850 a while back, and he's indicated that he might take me up on my offer.

I'm wondering if that's a good deal?

Thanks, as always,

--sohosources

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Used Taig CNC okay price at $800?