Need Help! CNC X Axis Opinion

View Poll Results: Which Version would you build?

Voters
7. You may not vote on this poll
  • V1 (OpenBuilds c-Beam)

0 0%
  • V2 (8020 30-6060 Outer)

1 14.29%
  • V3 (8020 30-6060 Inner)

0 0%
  • V4 (8020 40-8080 Inner)

0 0%
  • V5 (8020 40-4080 Inner)

2 28.57%
  • None of the Above

4 57.14%
Multiple Choice Poll.

Thread: CNC X Axis Opinion

Downloads
    Uploads

Default CNC X Axis Opinion

I am designing a CNC for light aluminum work. I have made 5 examples and cannot figure out which one to use. It's my first build/revision for all 5 of them. I like V5 the most, but it's probably the least strong of them all (Next would be V2).

(File is Sketchup 2017)

Thanks,
    -Matt

---Image Order----
    • ALL
    • V1 (OpenBuilds C-Beam)
    • V2 (8020 30-6060 Outer)
    • V3 (8020 30-6060 Inner)
    • V4 (8020 40-8080 Inner)
    • V5 (8020 40-4080 Inner)

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails CNC X Axis Opinion-cnc-jpg   CNC X Axis Opinion-cnc-v1-jpg   CNC X Axis Opinion-cnc-v2-jpg   CNC X Axis Opinion-cnc-v3-jpg  

CNC X Axis Opinion-cnc-v4-jpg   CNC X Axis Opinion-cnc-v5-jpg  
    Attached Files Attached Files

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: CNC X Axis Opinion

To increase rigidity you must decrease torque where linear guides mount to frames. You also need to increase the distance between two sides of structural beams. What this translates to is reducing the total distance between the cutter and the X axis rail as much as possible, it also means the further apart the top extrusion is from the bottom one on either side of the ball screw the better for rigidity. Finally and most obviously, 40mm is better than 30mm or 20mm. You'll need to take a closer look at your drawings to determine which best fits these descriptions, and weigh it against carriage mass and cost.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails CNC X Axis Opinion-ex-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads