Newbie Upgrading Taig CNC with Geckodrive G540 to Closed Loop Steppers

Thread: Upgrading Taig CNC with Geckodrive G540 to Closed Loop Steppers

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Upgrading Taig CNC with Geckodrive G540 to Closed Loop Steppers

Hey everybody,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I'm a product designer by trade and I'm very new to this stuff, so I appreciate your patience and assistance.

I recently bought a Taig CNC from the vendor Deepgroove1, they include a Geckodrive G540 enclosed with a 48V 350W power supply to go along with their Nema 23 2NM steppers. You can see the basic idea here:

https://www.deepgroove1.com/cnc-controller

I've managed to get this up and running with Mach3 on a computer running XP, and have been putting the machine through it's paces. I'm going to be making small injection molds out of aluminum, so I ran some very small bits and did some highly precise finishing passes. The mill is performing great, but a few times the steppers have bound up and knocked everything out of whack when doing long, detailed work. I've oiled the machine and did my best to get it dialed in, but it still seems to happen sometimes. Fortunately I was able to hit the e-stop button quickly enough to save the parts, but this has me considering closed loop hybrid steppers like the ones from stepper online. That way if the steppers bind I can at least have it trip the e-stop so I don't have to babysit it quite so much.

My question is how do I go about upgrading my current system? I was looking at the following closed loop stepper system:

https://www.omc-stepperonline.com/cl...-2m-cable.html