Anyone have experience with Aliexpress closed loop NEMA 34 steppers & HBS86H drivers

Thread: Anyone have experience with Aliexpress closed loop NEMA 34 steppers & HBS86H drivers

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Anyone have experience with Aliexpress closed loop NEMA 34 steppers & HBS86H drivers

I have a Harbor Freight milling machine that I am wanting to convert to CNC. My 1st step is motors on the X and Y handles. I have lots of experience with 3d printer stepper drive and driver boards but no experience at this scale. I've read that I should have 600 oz-in or more for direct drive of the lead screws. I'd like to be in the $100-ish per axis for motors and drives. https://www.aliexpress.com/item/33006846902.html seems to fit that description at ~$210 for a set of 2. Anyone have experience with these/similar setup? Any other suggestions near my price point? Thanks!

Paul

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Anyone have experience with Aliexpress closed loop NEMA 34 steppers & HBS86H driv

You will also want to look into a ball screw kit for your machine. You won't be happy with the result without ball screws. I don't have a specific recommendation for closed loop steppers, I'm sure most of them work OK. There are also a bunch of them on eBay and Amazon. You might pay a bit more from a USA based vendor, but at least you might have someone to scream at if things go south.

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Anyone have experience with Aliexpress closed loop NEMA 34 steppers & HBS86H driv