Adding a stepper to servos, and recommendations?

Thread: Adding a stepper to servos, and recommendations?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Adding a stepper to servos, and recommendations?

I have a 3 axis CNC machine, running on servos. The machine is controlled using Mach 3, with a 45KHz pulse rate, and the control board (which runs from 5VDC) has 4 outputs (X,Y,Z,A), each providing ground, step, and direction.

The X, Y, and Z outputs are currently wired to servo motor drivers, which take a 24VDC supply, and are obviously connected to each servo motor (and take inputs for each servo's encoder).

I want to utilise the A output on the control board to add a 4th (rotary axis). This axis specifically needs to spin very slowly, and with plenty of torque. That seems like a job for a stepper rather than a servo; but I have no experience with steppers.

The few stepper drivers I've seen do take ground, step and direction inputs - so that appears physically compatible with my control board's output.

Ideally I'd need at least 7Nm of torque (approx 960oz in), so I guess a Nema 34 size would be required (e.g. 960 oz-in NEMA 34 Motor | Avid CNC | CNC Router Parts or https://www.cnc4you.co.uk/Stepper-Mo...15-4208-Nema34).

I could provide a new power supply just for the stepper, though it would be useful if its driver (and the stepper) would take 24VDC as it's what I have.

Does this sound realistic/feasible? Would there be any concern with the stepper drive with Mach 3 producing a 45KHz pulse frequency?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Adding a stepper to servos, and recommendations?

How fast do you need it to spin? A 960oz motor at 24V will have very little torque when spinning.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]