Completely in the dark

Thread: Completely in the dark

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Completely in the dark

Hello all, as the title suggests I’ve been thrown into the deep end with a long ago started project by my boss. Basically he started building a CNC plasma table, then got pushed aside and forgotten about as more important projects came up.
    I have little to no knowledge around these things, and trying to pick up from where he left off rather than starting from the beginning is sending my head into overdrive.
    Starting with the table, it’s a 52” x 64” bed, and currently has 3 x 3.0A 300oz stepper motors and rails installed. I’ve been tasked with finishing this off and getting it working. Trouble is, I’m not sure exactly what I need to get and what can be paired with what items. There’s 2 motors controlling the X axis and 1 motor controlling the Z axis.
    Would I be right in thinking I can use a single 6.0A driver to control both motors with one being in reverse phase or would I need two separate drivers to run them independently? Then the Z axis being controlled by a single 3.0A driver?
    That’s pretty much where I’m at at the moment, and after spending hours looking at all the drivers and PSU combinations, I really don’t know what matches to what.
    If anyone has a link or could offer me any insight as to some faq pages or starter pages rather than trawling through the depths of google it would be much appreciated.

Sorry for the long post, and more than likely stupid noob questions!

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Completely in the dark

Would I be right in thinking I can use a single 6.0A driver to control both motors with one being in reverse phase or would I need two separate drivers to run them independently?
    No, you need a separate drive for each motor.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]