Need Help! Stepper motor only rotating one direction (RAMPS 1.4 Board)

Thread: Stepper motor only rotating one direction (RAMPS 1.4 Board)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Post Stepper motor only rotating one direction (RAMPS 1.4 Board)

The problem:

I have successfully connected a Nema 23 stepper motor to a Ramps 1.4 shield (which interfaces with the computer through a 3D printing program called Repetier-Host), however it only turns in one direction. I have gotten it to spin in the opposite direction by reversing the wiring, but it only spins in one direction. Does anyone have some suggestions for troubleshooting this issue? I am an architecture student, so I do not have too much experience with circuitry, but I understand basic concepts. I understand that my machine is a 3D printer, but I am using stepper motors and microstep drives used much more commonly in CNC applications, so I figured it would be more appropriate to post in this forum than a 3D printer forum where the majority of members most likely use the small Pololu drivers and Nema 17 motors.

Specs of the machine:

Some dimensions (in mm)

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/attach...d=303330&stc=1

Interface: RAMPS 1.4 Shield in conjunction with an Arduino Mega 2560 (this acts as a breakout board of sorts)
    Stepper Motors: Two Nema 23 Motors for the Z-axis (wired opposite of one another)
    Two Nema 17 Motors for the X-axis (wired opposite of one another)
    One Nema 17 Motor for the Y-axis
    Drivers: Leadshine DM442 for the Z- and X-axes
    Pololu A4988 for the Y-axis
    PSU: +12V outputs from an ATX power supply (The recommended voltage for these Nema 23 stepper motors is 24-48V and the Vdc for the stepper motor drivers is 20-40V, so I have a 24V 15A power supply coming in the mail)

Here is a diagram showing how I am using the DM442 microstep drives in conjunction with the Ramps 1.4 board

Explanation: