Need Help! DM860A Driver Blew up, need parts

Thread: DM860A Driver Blew up, need parts

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default DM860A Driver Blew up, need parts

Hi Everyone,

I just had a DM860A driver fry itself. Probably caused by a motor that burned out, or maybe it caused the motor to burn out. Still investigating that. I have ordered a replacement from Longmotorsxx on eBay, but while I am waiting I thought I would try to get this one going again and at least use it as a back-up driver. I am an electronics tech by trade, so can work my way around a board and circuit diagram etc, but would still appreciate some advice. I can see that I have blown 3 out of the 4 diodes attached to the motor coils (B-B+A-A+) - and probably the 4th as well, it just isn't as crispy.

http://i61.tinypic.com/2008myd.png

http://i59.tinypic.com/2rw733l.png

The diodes have the marking S2888 on them as you can see in the above photo. I can't find these part numbers when I do a part search online. Does anyone know what they are and potentially where I can get these? I have also tried Active, Digikey and Mouser with no luck. :-(

Thanks in advance.

John
    CRP4896

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DM860A Driver Blew up, need parts-cnc-driver-board-diode-0-png   DM860A Driver Blew up, need parts-cnc-driver-board-diode-2-png  

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: DM860A Driver Blew up, need parts

I got an answer back from Longs Motor and they were very responsive. They told me that the part is a UF2G diode. (Well the equivalent to the installed component anyway). They also offered to send the parts to me for free and just to pay for shipping. In any case, I will order the components with an order I am doing from Digikey and if there is any interest I can post the results of my attempt to fix the driver. (Cheaper to do this than pay for shipping from China if it is combined in the order I am already doing).

Registered
    Downloads