Controller Upgrade Required

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Controller Upgrade Required

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Unhappy Controller Upgrade Required

Hello everybody, firstly let me say that this forum is the best thing since sliced bread.
    As a complete CNC novice, I inadvertently wandered on here about 3 or 4 months ago and within half an hour I vowed to build myself a CNC router. Since then, I have managed to buy myself a second hand machine and I now humbly seek advice from you guys.
    I have a small sign business in the UK and the machine I have bought is an Elu 860 Machining Centre, does anybody know of this machine? I hope to be able to use it for routing letters and shapes out of foamex and acrylic etc, and possibly some 3D work,
    I do not do a large amount of this type of work and I am able to continue sub contracting while I familiarise myself and do a bit of totally unnecessary upgrading in my spare time.
    The machine has an 860 x 860mm machining area and 90mm Z axis travel
    The Y axis has 2 lead screws, one attached directly to the motor, the other side driven by a belt from the same motor. The X and Z axis are also lead screw and direct drive from the motors
    I don’t know how to calculate the lead screw pitch but I have established that 1 rotation of any of the motors equates to 2mm of travel on the axis.
    All the lead screws, bearings and bushes etc seem to be in good condition.
    The machine is about 8 or 9 years old and has the following 3 stepper motors:
    On the X & Z axis MAE SPA HY200 3424 0310 AL04, (4 wires) on the end cover of the motors it has 13.95. Step Angle 1.8 degrees, Step Angle Accuracy 5%, Rated Phase Current 3.1A, Phase Resistance 0.90ohm, Phase Inductance 2.9 mH, Holding Torque unipolar 2 phases on 141Ncm, Holding Torque bipolar 2 phases on 182Ncm, (I think that this equates to Nemo 34, not sure though?) Maximum applicable voltage 90V.